top of page

Poise and Grace of an Older Sister

I've talked at length about my middle child and her medical issues. Even on the Jennifer Fulwiler show on SiriusXM radio. But I also have two others who equally receive my love and praise. 

See, Adelaide is my hero.

Our Adelaide was named after Adelaide of Saxe-Meiningen, Queen consort of the United Kingdom. Queen Adelaide was a pious, compassionate and caring woman, beloved by her husband and her subjects. It was what I wanted for our baby girl and she hasn't disappointed.

From the moment of her birth, Adelaide, or Ada as she sometimes prefers to be called (after she read a book about Ada Baron Lovelace--another amazing woman from history), has been compassionate, loving and caring. She has always wanted to help care for her sister.

When my husband and I received the grave news that Bernadette might not survive the first night after her tumor resection, we made the decision to be transparent with Adelaide. We let her see her sister. Her first response was to sing "you are my sunshine" to her. She never once questioned the tubes or how careful she had to be with Bee. She wanted her better and took on the role of nurse and child life expert all by herself without requirement. 

Every day she arrived at the hospital throughout all of the hospitalizations, determined to make a difference. And a difference she made in Bee's life, in our lives and the lives of patients, physicians, nurses and hospital staff.

People are always in awe of her patient nature. Her ability to see past things like tubes, casts, deformities and medical issues that make most kids look away in embarrassment. She was just as likely to wipe Bee's blood from her mouth as I. Never asked. I repeat, never asked...always done on her own accord. She would play in the play room with any child with any condition and bless them with the ability to be seen as human not leper. 

When I found out that Adelaide's feast day was the day after her birthday and that her patron saint was the patron of large families (among other things), her gentleness made sense. Her encouraging, sweet, polite and patient ways were perfect to match her royal namesake and her saintly one. 

She is an unsung hero. Her strength is amazing. She has not battled near death but her grace, poise and her ability to comfort us all during dark days makes her the most amazing young lady I have been blessed to call my daughter. May we all be her, may we all learn from her.

From her love of praying the rosary to her excitement over her chapel veil and lighting candles in prayer, it is clear that God speaks through her. Not overtly, like Bee, but quietly through her amazing ability to be selfless without demand and her ability to love anyone and everyone as she loves God. 

Your children are born with a unique gift. A gift given by God and, I believe, reflected in their name. It's our job as parents to make them feel loved so that gift may flourish. It's demanding. It requires a great deal of self sacrifice. But our children always have something to teach us. And Adelaide has taught me to love. Bernadette taught me how far you go for love. And Lucas taught me there is light in the dark....but he's a whole other post.

Until then I leave you with a quote from St. Francis de Sales, "[nothing] is so strong as gentleness, nothing so gentle as real strength."

In Him.

bottom of page