top of page

A Pirate, the Holy Spirit and Me

Happy Pentecost! I set forth yesterday to write a post. I stopped. I let my phone die. I was present in the moment. Something everyone struggles with. It made me a better wife, a better mother. Even if I fell short of perfection, I was trying.

The idea comes and goes, not as frequently as it used to. I used to routinely be difficult to get a hold of pre-transplant waiting list. It's in the quiet that you can hear God whisper softly. I challenge you to pause. I challenge you to take a step back and see the love, the joy around you. See how He talks to you. He's there for us all, if we take the moment to listen.

It's a tug on the heart as I watch the babies play pirate ship in that little pool we spent so long blowing up. It's feeling blessed that my husband fired up the grill and cooked amazing burgers. This is wasn't just happiness, it was joy. I was looking around at who and what surrounded me, thanking God for He has given me in more than just that moment. There wasn't anything grand going on, just some pirates, and a heart full of love. Love for children being children. Love for a selfless family that donated our ability to have moments like this. Love for a spouse who is a terrific parent, partner and friend. 

After they played so hard they fell asleep, we got ready for mass. It was a big day. A day I've waited for forever. Confirmation. I officially entered the church last night! It was filled with emotion.

For the past how many years, I have always felt a shiver and a pang of sadness on my heart during the prayer "Lord, I am not worthy that you should enter under my roof but only say the word and my soul shall be healed." I wasn't worthy. After years of waiting, my prayer was answered. I can finally receive the Holy Eucharist. And my husband was my sponsor! What a blessing to be able to experience that with him at my side.

Where were your pirates this weekend? Did the Holy Spirit move you at all? Will you share your joy with us?

So how can I pray for you this week? Send me a message. Send me an email! I'm serious; I truly want to pray for you!

With joy,

Kate

bottom of page